A Community Website for
Vancouver's First Neighbourhood
photo credit

Strathcona, Vancouver's First Neighbourhood

Strathcona, Vancouver’s oldest and truly unique neighbourhood, has been called a slum, “home of the working man,” and absolutely charming. Starting out as a collection of shacks and cottages around the Hastings Mill, it developed into a residential area that quickly moved south and east away from the mill... Read More about Strathcona and the area's history »
Neighbourhood Events
Strathcona Harvest Festival photo © Jonathan Cruz Saturday, September 13, 2014
(formerly known as the Strathcona Harvest Festival) Family-friendly community street party
Neighbourhood Events
Atira Proposed development at 420 Hawks - Community Open House Thursday, September 4, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
7:15 at Strathcona Community Centre
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, July 24, 2014
A Strathcona Community Art Project
Neighbourhood Events
Project Limelight Presents The Chocolate Factory Sunday, July 13, 2014
Presented by Project Limelight, Directed by Paul Belanger and featuring young performer's from the neighbourhood
Neighbourhood Events
STRATHCONA HAWK STREET MARKET 2014 Sunday, July 6, 2014
**Join us for our Annual Neighbour Hood Sale**
Neighbourhood Events
18th Annual Union Street Block Party Saturday, July 5, 2014
Mingle with your neighbors at the 18th annual 600 block Union Street Block Party
Neighbourhood Events
East Van Summer Jam Saturday, July 5, 2014
A day of live bands, soccer and basketball tournaments, a skate demonstration, and some of the cities finest Food Trucks. Celebrating East Vancouver community, music, and culture. Strathcona Park.
Neighbourhood Events
105 Keefer open house Monday, June 23, 2014
Beedie Living is applying for HAHR rezoning at 105 Keefer, for a 13 story tower
Neighbourhood Events
Maps & Memories 4th Downtown Eastside Artfare Institute Friday, June 6, 2014 - Sunday, June 8, 2014
A three-day intensive workshop on researching and expressing community stories through oral history and mapping
Neighbourhood Events
BC Buds Spring Arts Festival Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - Sunday, May 11, 2014
The Firehall Arts Centre's 10th Annual Sprint Arts Festival
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, April 24, 2014 - Saturday, June 14, 2014
Learn Chinatown survival Cantonese, plus An Art & Community Initiative with projects by Lydia Kwa 柯 溫愛, Kathryn Gwun-Yeen Lennon 姚君妍, and a special window display directed by Mrs. Chang 張太
Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Want to help green the city and get a great deal? Bring home a tree!
Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Interested in Strathcona’s mix of more recent architecture? Architect Joe Wai on what motivated the unique architectural style he designed, coined the “Joe Wai Special.”
Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, April 13, 2014
Delicious Ukrainian Food & Awesome Deals on Gently Used Items!