Back to top

Strathcona, Vancouver's First Neighbourhood

Strathcona, Vancouver’s oldest and truly unique neighbourhood, has been called a slum, “home of the working man,” and absolutely charming. Starting out as a collection of shacks and cottages around the Hastings Mill, it developed into a residential area that quickly moved south and east away from the mill... Read More about Strathcona and the area's history »
Neighbourhood Events
STRATHCONA HAWK STREET MARKET 2014
Sunday, July 6, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
105 Keefer open house
Monday, June 23, 2014
S.R.A Newsletter
Tuesday, June 3, 2014


((APOLOGIES: it would seem the earlier newsletter got stalled in the web server queue))

Hello Friends and Neighbours,
Some news and updates for you, inlcuding agenda for our next meeting, tomorrow:
Wendesday, June 4, 7:15 at the Strathcona Community Centre (UPSTAIRS, preschool room)

The days are getting longer, and it's hard to drag people out to an SRA meeting, but this will be our last meeting before the summer, we'll be covering local event...

S.R.A Newsletter
Sunday, May 4, 2014

Hello Friends and Neighbours,
Some news and updates for you, inlcuding agenda for our next meeting:
Wendesday, May 7, 7:15 at the Strathcona Community Centre (UPSTAIRS, preschool room)

This Wednesday's meeting has a bit of a "law and order" theme: we'll be introducing our new Neighbourhood Police Officer, Constable Graham Edmunds and have an opportunity to talk about the recent increase in residential B+Es in the neighbourhood; plus, we'll have some readings...

Neighbourhood Events
BC Buds Spring Arts Festival
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 to Sunday, May 11, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, April 24, 2014 to Saturday, June 14, 2014
S.R.A Newsletter
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Hello Friends and Neighbours,

An early newsletter post to share an exciting upcoming event from Centre A Gallery.

I've seen firsthand how a little rudimentary Cantonese can go along way and bring a smile to a local elder's face..
Check it out!
— Pete Fry

Please join Centre A for:

M’GOI/ DO JEH 唔該/多謝: SITES, RITES AND GRATITUDE

An Art &...

Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, April 5, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, April 13, 2014
S.R.A Newsletter
Friday, March 28, 2014

Hello Friends and Neighbours,
Some news and updates for you, inlcuding agenda for our next meeting:
Wendesday, April 2, 7:15 at the Strathcona Community Centre

There's plenty of stuff going on in the neighbourhood, including tomorrow - Spade to Spoon ( Strathcona's own food and garden event) at the community centre, the public hearing for the DTES LAP on tuesday - and the deadline for Neighbourhood Small Grants - Monday April 7th!

Wednesday's SRA meeting will...

Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Maps & Memories 4th Downtown Eastside Artfare Institute
Friday, June 6, 2014 to Sunday, June 8, 2014
S.R.A Newsletter
Tuesday, March 11, 2014

The DTES Local Area Plan will be presented to Council tomorrow. The following is the SRA position on the LAPP which Chair Pete Fry will present in person. The speaker's list will likely be quite long, and possibly tense, but residents can submit written comments to mayorandcouncil@vancouver.ca.

 

Strathcona Residents' Association
c/o 601 Keefer Street,
Vancouver BC
V6A 3V8

March 11, 2014

Re: Draft DTES Local Area Plan and Report

...
Neighbourhood Events
Spade to Spoon
Saturday, March 29, 2014

Pages