A Community Website for
Vancouver's First Neighbourhood
photo credit

Strathcona, Vancouver's First Neighbourhood

Strathcona, Vancouver’s oldest and truly unique neighbourhood, has been called a slum, “home of the working man,” and absolutely charming. Starting out as a collection of shacks and cottages around the Hastings Mill, it developed into a residential area that quickly moved south and east away from the mill... Read More about Strathcona and the area's history »
Neighbourhood Events
Hogan's Alley Saturday, February 15, 2014
As part of Balck History Month the Arts Club celebrates Hogan’s Alley with stories, songs and games from the era.
Neighbourhood Events
 Balkan Bhangra! Saturday, February 15, 2014
INDIAN BHANGRA - BALKAN BRASS at the Russian Hall
Neighbourhood Events
Friday, February 14, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
BlackStrathcona Project Monday, February 24, 2014
Black History Month Celebrates Vancouver’s first and only black community.
S.R.A Newsletter
Monday, February 3, 2014
Hello Friends and neighbours,
Gong Hei Fat Choy 恭禧发财.

Some disturbing news this weekend: police are seeking witnesses after a man assaulted two young girls at Strathcona Elementary playground on Sunday. Details can be found below. Please keep an eye out for the suspect, and as always...


S.R.A Newsletter
Monday, January 27, 2014

— apologies for the lateness of this message, the following was received from City staff just this afternoon (January 27).
City are proposing "Learning Sessions" starting this weekend, at which they will be presenting their plan for our neighbourhoods. Community members are strongly encouraged to...

Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, January 30, 2014
Vancouver Japanese Language School 5-7pm
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, February 1, 2014
Strathcona Community Centre, 10am - 12 noon
Neighbourhood Events
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Chinese Cultural Centre, 5 - 7pm
Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Carnegie Community Centre, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, February 8, 2014
Ray-Cam Community Centre, 10am - 12noon
Neighbourhood Events
SECOND SUNDAY MUSIC JAM Sunday, February 9, 2014
Floral and Hardy Edible Plants (organic florist/art gallery/event space)
S.R.A Newsletter
Friday, January 10, 2014

Hello Friends and Neighbours,

Built Form Workshop Tomorrow

A reminder that this Saturday, January 11 the City is hosting a Built Form and Places Feedback Workshop, to discuss the draft Local Area Plan, from 10 am - 12:30 pm at the...

Neighbourhood Events
City of Vancouver Downtown Eastside Local Area Planning Process Saturday, January 11, 2014
City hosted workshop for SRA and LAPP Committee members