Back to top

Strathcona, Vancouver's First Neighbourhood

Strathcona, Vancouver’s oldest and truly unique neighbourhood, has been called a slum, “home of the working man,” and absolutely charming. Starting out as a collection of shacks and cottages around the Hastings Mill, it developed into a residential area that quickly moved south and east away from the mill... Read More about Strathcona and the area's history »
Neighbourhood Events
Hogan's Alley
Saturday, February 15, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
 Balkan Bhangra!
Saturday, February 15, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Friday, February 14, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
BlackStrathcona Project
Monday, February 24, 2014
S.R.A Newsletter
Monday, February 3, 2014
Hello Friends and neighbours,
Gong Hei Fat Choy 恭禧发财.

Some disturbing news this weekend: police are seeking witnesses after a man assaulted two young girls at Strathcona Elementary playground on Sunday. Details can be found below. Please keep an eye out for the suspect, and as always, keep an eye out for our neighbourhood kids.

Reminder of the Residents' Association meeting this Wednesday, February 5, 7:15 at the Community Centre.

This will be one of the last two general SRA...

S.R.A Newsletter
Monday, January 27, 2014

— apologies for the lateness of this message, the following was received from City staff just this afternoon (January 27).
City are proposing "Learning Sessions" starting this weekend, at which they will be presenting their plan for our neighbourhoods. Community members are strongly encouraged to attend one of these sessions as well as the upcoming SRA meeting on February 5th to discuss resident and neighbour concerns and analysis of the plan. Learning Sessions for the Local...

Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, January 30, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, February 1, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, February 8, 2014
Neighbourhood Events
SECOND SUNDAY MUSIC JAM
Sunday, February 9, 2014
S.R.A Newsletter
Friday, January 10, 2014

Hello Friends and Neighbours,

Built Form Workshop Tomorrow

A reminder that this Saturday, January 11 the City is hosting a Built Form and Places Feedback Workshop, to discuss the draft Local Area Plan, from 10 am - 12:30 pm at the Strathcona Community Centre. This is an opportunity for interested residents and members of the LAPP Committee to discuss some of the proposed built form changes to Strathcona and the DTES with City staff.

The draft of the City's Local Area...

Neighbourhood Events
City of Vancouver Downtown Eastside Local Area Planning Process
Saturday, January 11, 2014

Pages