Back to top

Strathcona, Vancouver's First Neighbourhood

Strathcona, Vancouver’s oldest and truly unique neighbourhood, has been called a slum, “home of the working man,” and absolutely charming. Starting out as a collection of shacks and cottages around the Hastings Mill, it developed into a residential area that quickly moved south and east away from the mill... Read More about Strathcona and the area's history »
Neighbourhood Events
Jack o'Lantern
Saturday, October 26, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, October 26, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
S.R.A Newsletter
Monday, September 30, 2013

Hello, Strathcona friends and neighbours.

Apologies for the lateness of this email, the AGM is this Wednesday, and we've been working hard to put together our constitution and bylaw - big thanks to Gordon and John for pulling that together. We'll be submitting our bylaws to the province in the next few weeks as part of registering as a society, and members will have a chance to comment on the document this Wednesday (link below). The AGM will also see the election of the 2013-...

Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 to Sunday, November 3, 2013
S.R.A Newsletter
Friday, September 20, 2013

Hello, Strathcona friends and neighbours.

This is the first of two newsletters this month, as we have some important news and updates to share with you.

The days are getting shorter, and this weekend is the 6th Annual Harvest Festival (Sunday in McLean Park). The Harvest Fest is always a highlight of the Strathcona year, (and there's pie!). More on their website, and below.

On Tuesday, September 24, a grass-roots, apolitical multi-neighbourhood protest on...

Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, October 2, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, September 22, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, September 12, 2013
S.R.A Newsletter

Hello, Strathcona friends and neighbours.

September's upon us, summer vacation is winding down and the kids are heading back to school. This coming Wednesday (Sept 4) we'll be holding our first SRA meeting since June. There are a number of recent community developments to discuss, and lots of news. We also have a number of community events, including a Strathcona built-form workshop with City Staff, Dance Workshops at the Ukrainian Hall, Eastside 10k Run, DTES Powwow, and...

Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, September 11, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, September 14, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, September 7, 2013
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, August 31, 2013

Pages