A Community Website for
Vancouver's First Neighbourhood
photo credit

Strathcona, Vancouver's First Neighbourhood

Strathcona, Vancouver’s oldest and truly unique neighbourhood, has been called a slum, “home of the working man,” and absolutely charming. Starting out as a collection of shacks and cottages around the Hastings Mill, it developed into a residential area that quickly moved south and east away from the mill... Read More about Strathcona and the area's history »
Neighbourhood Events
East Van Summer Jam Saturday, July 5, 2014
A day of live bands, soccer and basketball tournaments, a skate demonstration, and some of the cities finest Food Trucks. Celebrating East Vancouver community, music, and culture. Strathcona Park.
Neighbourhood Events
105 Keefer open house Monday, June 23, 2014
Beedie Living is applying for HAHR rezoning at 105 Keefer, for a 13 story tower
Neighbourhood Events
Maps & Memories 4th Downtown Eastside Artfare Institute Friday, June 6, 2014 - Sunday, June 8, 2014
A three-day intensive workshop on researching and expressing community stories through oral history and mapping
S.R.A Newsletter
Tuesday, June 3, 2014


((APOLOGIES: it would seem the earlier newsletter got stalled in the web server queue))

Hello Friends and Neighbours,
Some news and updates for you, inlcuding agenda for our next meeting, tomorrow:
Wendesday, June 4, 7:15 at the Strathcona Community Centre (UPSTAIRS, preschool room)

...

Neighbourhood Events
BC Buds Spring Arts Festival Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - Sunday, May 11, 2014
The Firehall Arts Centre's 10th Annual Sprint Arts Festival
S.R.A Newsletter
Sunday, May 4, 2014

Hello Friends and Neighbours,
Some news and updates for you, inlcuding agenda for our next meeting:
Wendesday, May 7, 7:15 at the Strathcona Community Centre (UPSTAIRS, preschool room)...

Neighbourhood Events
Thursday, April 24, 2014 - Saturday, June 14, 2014
Learn Chinatown survival Cantonese, plus An Art & Community Initiative with projects by Lydia Kwa 柯 溫愛, Kathryn Gwun-Yeen Lennon 姚君妍, and a special window display directed by Mrs. Chang 張太
S.R.A Newsletter
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Hello Friends and Neighbours,

An early newsletter post to share an exciting upcoming event from Centre A Gallery.

I've seen firsthand how a little rudimentary Cantonese can go along way and bring a smile to a local elder's face..
Check it out!
— Pete Fry

...





Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Want to help green the city and get a great deal? Bring home a tree!
Neighbourhood Events
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Interested in Strathcona’s mix of more recent architecture? Architect Joe Wai on what motivated the unique architectural style he designed, coined the “Joe Wai Special.”
Neighbourhood Events
Sunday, April 13, 2014
Delicious Ukrainian Food & Awesome Deals on Gently Used Items!
Neighbourhood Events
Saturday, April 5, 2014
Interested in exploring a historic neighbourhood to understand the influences that have dramatically altered it over a century?
Neighbourhood Events
Spade to Spoon Saturday, March 29, 2014
Strathcona's own food and garden event.
S.R.A Newsletter
Friday, March 28, 2014

Hello Friends and Neighbours,
Some news and updates for you, inlcuding agenda for our next meeting:
Wendesday, April 2, 7:15 at the Strathcona Community Centre

...
Neighbourhood Events
The Dovbush Dancers Thursday, March 27, 2014
The Discover Dance! series presents an exciting program of exuberant, colorful dances from different regions of Ukraine